Skip to content
soup

Here Are Some Sources of Gluten That You May Not Know Of

If you try to avoid gluten for health reasons, you may always want to go for gluten-free products. However, some products that we may assume are gluten-free could surprise us because they may contain it. This article discusses everyday products where you can find gluten that you may not know about. Here are some common sneaky sources of gluten:

1. Processed Meats

Many processed types of meat, like lunch meats, sausage, and hot dogs, contain gluten. Be sure to read the labels carefully and look for gluten-free options.

2. Condiments

Many condiments contain gluten, such as soy sauce, salad dressing, and BBQ sauce. It’s always best to avoid these or search for alternatives that do not contain gluten. You may also try to make a substitute by looking up a recipe online.

3. Soups

Many soups, especially cream-based soups, contain gluten. Try to avoid pre-made or instant soups as they may have gluten. Instead, it’s always better for you to make your soup.

4. Sauces

Many sauces contain gluten, such as gravy, Hollandaise sauce, and Alfredo sauce. Check the labels or make your sauce at home using gluten-free ingredients.

5. Beer

Beer is made from wheat and barley, so it contains gluten. There are a few gluten-free beers on the market, but they can be hard to find. Just make sure to check and do your research to know what beer brands are gluten-free.

6. Wine

Wine is usually gluten-free, but some brands may use gluten-containing ingredients in their wine-making process. It’s always best to ask the seller or manufacturer about their process and what ingredients were included in the wine.

7. Imitation Crab Meat

Some brands of imitation crab meat contain wheat flour, which means they also have gluten. If you're following a gluten-free diet, check the labels carefully before purchasing. Some brands are made with fish paste instead of wheat flour, so these may be a better option for those with gluten sensitivities.

8. French Fries

Many restaurants use wheat flour to coat their French fries, so they contain gluten. If you're dining out, ask about the ingredients used in their fries. Or, better yet, cook your own at home using gluten-free ingredients.

9. Desserts

Many desserts contain gluten, such as cakes, cookies, and pies. If you have a sweet tooth, make sure to ask the chef or maker of the dessert to clarify what the ingredients are and whether or not the dessert contains any form of gluten. Always try to request a gluten-free dessert when ordering.

10. Lipstick and Other Cosmetics

Regarding makeup, many products on the market today contain gluten. This can be a problem for celiac or gluten intolerants, as even trace amounts of gluten can cause problems. Fortunately, several companies are now offering gluten-free cosmetics.

11. Play-Doh

The popular kids' toy known as Play-Doh contains gluten. If your child is sensitive to gluten, keeping them away from this toy is important. Play-Doh is made from wheat flour, which is a source of gluten. In addition, the toy can easily become contaminated with gluten if it comes into contact with other gluten-containing items.

Conclusion

You may not be aware of a few common sneaky sources of gluten. These include things like soy sauce, salad dressings, and even some kinds of candy. It's essential to be aware of these sources of gluten so that you can avoid them if you have celiac disease or are trying to follow a gluten-free diet.

Are you trying to undergo a keto cleanse? Purchase products from us at Artisanal Australia to add to your cleanse. Our products are all-natural and organic, made for healthy living. Check out our products and get some today.

Previous article Keeping Your Keto and Vegan Choices in Check at Social Gatherings